We Help Good People,In Bad Situations, Every Day
Felony DUI Charges in Memphis
A Memphis Criminal Attorney May Be Able To Help
DUI convictions in the state of Tennessee are harsh. They come with strict penalties and long-term consequences. In Tennessee, an individual 21 years or older cannot drive with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08% or over.
If a driver is under the age of 21, they cannot have a BAC level of .02% or above. DUI laws do not only refer to alcohol consumption. Drivers can be arrested for a DUI if they are under the influence of any type of controlled substance including marijuana.
Is a Dui a Felony in TN?
In Tennessee, a DUI is a felony if the defendant performed one of the following acts:
- Injured or killed a child passenger under the age of 13
- Caused serious injury in an accident (vehicular assault)
- Caused a vehicular homicide; death of another individual
- Caused major damage to property in an accident
- Have 3+ prior DUI convictions
What Are the Penalties for a Felony DUI in Tennessee?
If you are facing a felony DUI penalty in Tennessee it is imperative to consult with a Memphis criminal defense lawyer from The Claiborne Ferguson Law Firm, P.A. Any type of DUI offense holds harsh penalties but a felony DUI comes with a significant amount of jail time along with fines. A third offense misdemeanor DUI is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
The punishment for a fourth DUI offense includes:
- Class E felony conviction
- Minimum of 150 days in jail and up to six years
- Fines between $3,000 and $15,000
- License suspension for a minimum of 5 years but could be indefinite
- Mandatory Ignition interlock device installation
- Possible drug treatment program
- Possible alcohol safety DUI program
- Possible community service (litter pick up)
- Possible vehicle seizure
A Class D felony could follow a vehicular assault offense. The penalties for a Class D felony include: fines, license revocation between one and five years, and a jail sentence between two and 12 years. Drinking and driving with a child 13 years and younger and injuring the child in an accident could also lead to a Class D felony. This conviction can lead to a jail sentence between two and four years.
If the child is killed in the accident; however, the penalties are increased. If your DUI offense led to a vehicular homicide you could be facing a Class B felony with even stricter penalties. The jail time for this type of felony is a minimum of 3 years in jail and a license suspension of up to 10 years. Any felony DUI offense comes with the possibility of treatment programs, a mandatory ignition interlock devise, and possible vehicle seizure. In order to fight against these penalties you need to have an experienced DUI attorney representing you.
Need a Lawyer for a Felony Dui Case in Memphis, TN?
If you are facing any type of felony DUI charge in Tennessee, you need a knowledgeable Memphis DUI lawyer by your side. The attorneys at our firm have more than 35 years of experience and ample success in helping clients get their DUI charges reduced or even dismissed.
The possible penalties are severe and you need to make sure your rights are fought for. The skilled criminal defense lawyers at The Claiborne Ferguson Law Firm, P.A. are skilled when it comes to the felony DUI defense process and they may be able to help.
Over 35 Years of Criminal Defense Experience
Rated as Top Attorneys for Criminal Defense
Our Lead Attorney has a 10.0 "Superb" Avvo Rating
2013-2018 Avvo Clients' Choice Award for Criminal Defense