We Help Good People,In Bad Situations, Every Day
Petty Theft in Tennessee
Facing Theft Crime Charges in Memphis, TN?
Petty theft is one category used when charging theft crimes. Theft offenses are split up between petty theft and grand theft depending on the value of the property involved. To read the specific statutes related to petty theft in Tennessee you can check out Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-14-105. In this state, in order for the theft offense to be considered petty theft, the value of the property needs to have a value of $500 or less.
The definition of theft in Tennessee is taking any item without having consent from the owner and having the intent of depriving the owner of the property. If you are facing petty theft or any other theft charges in Memphis, contact The Claiborne Ferguson Law Firm, P.A. as soon as possible. We can help you fight against your charges and avoid the penalties at stake.
Tennessee Petty Theft Penalties
Petty theft is charged as a Class A misdemeanor in Tennessee which is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. To avoid jail time and fines, you need to work towards building a defense.
There are several defenses to be made when facing these charges including:
- Lack of intent to deprive the owner
- Mistaken identity
- Lack of knowledge of the crime
If you sincerely forgot to pay for an item or someone put merchandise in your bag without you knowing, you may be able to avoid conviction. Team up with a skilled theft defense attorney in Memphis to assist you. Our firm has over 35 years of experience representing the criminally accused in their theft cases and we can help you.
Contact us now to set up your free case evaluation and get started in fighting against your charges.
Educating Every Client on Their Rights
Over 35 Years of Criminal Defense Experience
Rated as Top Attorneys for Criminal Defense
Our Lead Attorney has a 10.0 "Superb" Avvo Rating
2013-2018 Avvo Clients' Choice Award for Criminal Defense