Being charged with a DUI can be frightening and overwhelming especially if you do not know what to expect. Tennessee has strict penalties for DUI offenses and you should be aware of the consequences you are facing. For a first Tennessee DUI offense you are at risk of all of the following penalties:
- Jail sentence between 48 hours and 11 months
- Fines between $350 and $1,500
- One year license suspension
- Highway litter removal for 24 hours
- DUI school
The ignition interlock device is another possible consequence if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was above .15% or if you had another passenger in the car who was under age 18. If you refused to take a chemical test, you may be facing a one year license revocation and an ignition interlock device.
If you are facing DUI charges in Tennessee, you need to team up with a skilled Memphis criminal defense lawyer from The Claiborne Ferguson Law Firm, P.A. There are several defenses to a first DUI offense and we can help. One of the main defenses is to challenge to police procedures during the stop and also the testing. Fighting against the results of a Breathalyzer and chemical tests is a common method of fighting against a DUI offense. We can also question the probable cause element of the stop or the inadequate procedure of a field sobriety test from the arresting officer. The prosecutor has the burden of proof to show that you committed a DUI offense. The key to fighting your charge is the challenge evidence and cast doubt on the prosecutor's arguments. Contact The Claiborne Ferguson Law Firm, P.A. to have a certified trial specialist with experience in this process by your side. Call today to schedule your free case evaluation!