What are the Penalties for Theft in Memphis?

The penalties for theft in Tennessee vary according to the money value of the property. Theft offenses can be charged as Class A misdemeanors all the way up to a Class B felony. The penalties for any type of theft crime are severe which is why it is imperative to seek experienced representation from a Memphis criminal attorney. The breakdown of penalties follows these guidelines:

Property Value Of:

  • $500 or less
    • Charged as a Class A misdemeanor
    • Punishable by a prison sentence of up to 11 months and 29 days along with a fine of up to $2,500
  • $500 - $1,000
    • Charged as a Class E felony
    • Punishable by imprisonment between one year and six years plus a fine of up to $3,000
  • $1,000 - $10,000
    • Charged as a Class D felony
    • Punishable by a prison term between two and 12 years and a fine of up to $5,000
  • $10,000 - $60,000
    • Charged as a Class C felony
    • Punishable by between three and 35 years in prison along with a fine of up to $10,000
  • $60,000 or more
    • Charged as a Class B felony
    • Punishable by a prison sentence between eight and 30 years and a fine of up to $25,000

Theft can occur in many different forms, not solely taking merchandise from a store or person. A person can be charged with a theft offense if they intend to deprive the owner of the property while exercising control over the property without consent from the owner. Anyone who takes property form another person without planning to return it can be charged with theft. If you are facing a theft charge obtain the aggressive representation of a Memphis criminal lawyer by calling our firm today!

Related Posts
  • Key Differences Between State and Federal Criminal Defense Cases in Tennessee Read More
  • Constitutional Rights in Tennessee Criminal Defense: A Primer for Defendants Read More
  • Should You Consent to a Search of Your Vehicle if You're Pulled Over? Read More