Petty Theft in Tennessee
Facing theft crime charges in Memphis, TN?
Petty theft is one category used when charging
theft crimes. Theft offenses are split up between petty theft and grand theft depending
on the value of the property involved. To read the specific statutes related
to petty theft in Tennessee you can check out Tennessee Code Annotated
section 39-14-105. In this state, in order for the theft offense to be
considered petty theft, the value of the property needs to have a value
of $500 or less. The definition of theft in Tennessee is taking any item
without having consent from the owner and having the intent of depriving
the owner of the property. If you are facing petty theft or any other
theft charges in Memphis, contact The Claiborne Ferguson Law Firm, P.A.
as soon as possible. We can help you fight against your charges and avoid
the penalties at stake.
Tennessee Petty Theft Penalties
Petty theft is charged as a Class A misdemeanor in Tennessee which is punishable
by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. To avoid jail time
and fines, you need to work towards building a defense. There are several
defenses to be made when facing these charges including:
- Lack of intent to deprive the owner
- Mistaken identity
- Lack of knowledge of the crime
If you sincerely forgot to pay for an item or someone put merchandise in
your bag without you knowing, you may be able to avoid conviction. Team
up with a skilled theft defense attorney in Memphis to assist you. Our
firm has over 20 years of experience representing the criminally accused
in their theft cases and we can help you.
Contact us now to set up your
free case evaluation and get started in fighting against your charges.